DEV Community

Sanyam Jain
Sanyam Jain

Posted on

It is like yesterday

It's pretty scary to know how quickly time flies. It is like yesterday; I joined DTU as a fresher, and now I'm in my final year. It seems like yesterday I sought guidance from my seniors, and now I guide juniors. It seems like yesterday I was standing at OAT thinking about my college journey, and now I'm standing at the corporate office thinking about my career journey. 

Many things changed, but one thing is the same: I never stop believing. Many times you are in a situation where you feel helpless and you have a self-doubt about whether to get success or not, and during these phases, I learned one thing: you should trust the process and be consistent. 

My first year and second year are occupied by COVID only. So, the 2024 batch is somewhat unlucky in this scenario. But I used this time to upskill myself in data structure and algorithms, getting the gist of computer science, programming, and development. I also explored finance, agency business, video editing, and content creation. But nothing worked out for me, and the most important thing is that if you really want to experience college life, then at least one year you should live in a hostel. Even though I'm a Delhiite, I'm able to get a hostel allotment :P

During my college, I have worked with many startups as a software developer and met different people from different backgrounds. I try to interact with them as much as I can to gain insights from their experience and knowledge and work closely with founders to not only improve my technical skills but also understand how business actually works, which helps me to look at a product from a business perspective rather than just the technical side. Also, by doing this, you can break your employee mindset and start something of your own.

College life is fun; don't be too stressed out; just take it light and trust the process.

Top comments (0)