DEV Community

Saud
Saud

Posted on

WordPress job offer as a MERN stack developer

Hi, I'm a software developer working in a company using the MERN stack, I also do freelance work and side projects using PHP/Laravel. My expertise lies in customized web applications, integrations, etc.

Surprisingly enough, I just received a WordPress job offer from an old friend of mine with double the salary of my current company, which is really appealing.

But the problem is that I'm afraid that accepting this WordPress job offer would hurt/hinder my career as a full stack developer, as my ultimate goal is to work in big companies that use the above stated technologies. But at the same time, I do need the money offered to pay the bills, so I'm lost and don't know what to do in this case ..

I'm actively searching for other opportunities, and this one came up, so I'm not sure whether to accept it or reject it. As I do care about the salary and my career as well.
Any advice my friends?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
schemetastic profile image
Schemetastic (Rodrigo)

Hello! Welcome to DEV!

Seems like a tough decision, involving personal matters, that's probably why not many people are giving advices I guess, haha.

Many people are in the situation where they need to provide money to their families and would take a job that would satisfy their material needs (even though there are more important things than material needs), while others are in the position where they can adjust to little money or probably no money while they are trying to get something better or decent. I cannot tell you what would I do, because it's a very personal choice and ultimately you know your situation better. And don't take this as an advice, but working at a big company doesn't necessarily mean that you'll be happier, or accepting the other job or keeping your actual job doesn't necessarily will make you happier, I believe it is a matter of who we are and what do we love in life.