DEV Community

Shannon Crabill
Shannon Crabill

Posted on

Nevertheless, I coded, coded & coded

I continued to code in 2019 because...

I enjoy coding.

No really.

I can found coding, learning to code, or reading about code in my spare time.

I'm not going to lie, however. Coding can be hard. It can be difficult, it can be tiring...but in the end, I enjoy being able to build things.

I continue coding because I know there is more I want to learn, that I am not able to do yet that I want to be able to do.

Currently I am fighting the battle with Javascript, which leads me to the next promt...

I deserve credit for...

Keeping with code.

Over the course of my career, I've pivoted a few times when it comes to what I want to learn next, but the one constant has been coding. If I stray away, I keep coming back to it.

It's safe to say my ❤️ is in coding and I think that's pretty awesome :)

I hope to see my tech community...

Be willing to take a chance on someone.

Not everyone is a unicorn.

It seems like the tech community is always searching for the next unicorn developer.

The thing is, there are so many awesome developers who are so willing to learn, to put in the effort to contribute, that could become those unicorns if they were given the opportunity.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I hope that we as an industry move away from trying to find "unicorns", "rockstars" and "guru" developers and just be people who code and develop software at different levels of skill that are always changing. Being said that, go on and keep on coding! :)

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Agreed! Those words come off as exclusionary.