DEV Community

Ken Simeon
Ken Simeon

Posted on

What's in my Toolbox

As a Hybrid software developer and quality analysis (QA) [aka Quality Engineer (QE)] I use a vast variety of applications & tools to keep myself productive in my daily activities on my Mac.

Are we cool?

For Terminal Junkies

iTerm2

  • Great replacement to the standard MacOS terminal with support for theming and more features then you can shake a stick at.

Xcode Command Line Tools

  • Its essential for any developer.
  • Quick Tip- don't click the link. Just open a Terminal and type in git or xcode-select --install or install Xcode from the AppStore. Homewbrew
  • A must have package manager so you can get all of the missing *nix based utilities not installed by the base operating system.

Tmux

  • I prefer to use Tmux for managing multiple terminals over the built in functionality iTerm2.
  • Tmux also allows me to make my configuration more portable across *nix systems.

Vim

  • Its included with every *nix based system. So it's better to know it then be scared of it.
  • Install Vim using Homebrew. The version included with MacOS can be outdated.

Tmux and VIM

When you have to GUI

MacVim

  • I don't leave home without it!

TablePlus

  • It blows Sequel Pro out the water TablePlus

MacDown

  • Its a very simple Markdown editor that includes an inline viewer. MacDown

Postman

  • When you want to test APIs or write API documentation, it doesn't get much easier Postman

Cyberduck

  • So much more than an FTP client Cyberduck

VisualStudio Code [when i'm being lazy]

  • Might be the most popular cross platform Editor [next to Vim 😂] VSCode

SourceTree

  • When Git branches gets a bit too messy I turn to SourceTree SourceTree

Xmind

  • There are times when I have to visually map out a workflow and Xmind is the right tool for that job. Xmind

Utilities

Charles Proxy

  • CP is it for when you want to see every network communication or manipulate the communication between your device/browser and a server. Charles Proxy

VirtualBox

  • Virtualization is everything these days. Plus VirtualBox pairs well with Vagrant and Docker VirualBox

Caffeine

  • When I'm presenting or partnering with someone, the last thing I want to worry about is my Mac going to sleep & locking. Caffeine SSH Tunnel Manager

Chargeberry

  • Its just my little nerdy Battery monitor Chargeberry

That's it. What about you? Do you have specific tools or apps you can't live without?

That's some gourmet shit!

Top comments (0)