DEV Community

Cover image for Sev to Dev: My Journey Into Tech
Sev
Sev

Posted on • Updated on

Sev to Dev: My Journey Into Tech

Hello!
My name is Sev and I'm going to be building my portfolio site from scratch and documenting the process.

First a little about me:
I went to a small private art college for music before dropping out and entering the retail/barista workforce. Thanks to my own natural curiosity and the freaking MIRACLE of online learning I started to teach myself to code on and off for the last couple of years. I managed to create a position at my current company (a small wine and spirits brand in San Francisco) that involves a little coding, content creation, and video and design work in addition to website admin, blogging, and online order fulfillment. I love the creative/tech aspects of the job.

It's become increasingly clear to me that my skills are valuable and with a little focus, I know I can do something really cool.

My goals of documenting my journey:

  1. Create portfolio that can showcase my many skillsets and projects.

  2. Show my work and engage with community. I'd like to meet more creatives like me.

  3. Get better at articulating myself. I want to be able to confidently talk about what I know. And, as I'm sure you're aware of by now, writing isn't my thing. lol. Looking at this as an opportunity to stretch that muscle as well.

  4. Either get a job that involves even more of the stuff I love to do or do freelance work.

Feeling very excited for this endeavor. See you soon!

Top comments (0)