DEV Community

Cover image for Sev to Dev: Website Wireframe
Sev
Sev

Posted on

Sev to Dev: Website Wireframe

The holiday season was a little hectic this year (when is it not?! lol) and of course 2020 was no exception, but I'm back on track. I felt compelled to work on my wireframe for my portfolio website design to keep this project going strong into the new year.

First I took a look at the sitemap I created at the end of November to refresh what I had wrote down. Check out my previous Planning My Site post for details on how I created this.

I settled on these sections:

Home

  • catchy tagline (tbd)
  • interesting img

Work

  • code
  • design

About

  • picture of me
  • short bio

Contact

  • contact form
  • social media links

I started with a hand drawn version that I made on my ipad pro and procreate. Ive seen a website before and I've designed a couple before too so this stage was relatively easy.

Next, I placed my hand drawn wireframe into Photoshop for some refinement. Once I got all the sections in place, I slapped a grid on that bad boy and was able to even it out a bit so it looks balanced.

Here are the three side by side for comparison:) On the left is the hand drawn, in the center is the non-gridded photoshop recreation, and on the right is the final wireframe spaced out proper with a grid.

Alt Text

My next step is to turn this solid wireframe into a properly organized design comp in photoshop with the proper use of color theory, typefaces, images, and spacing.

Stay tuned for more!

Top comments (0)