DEV Community

shaccoo
shaccoo

Posted on

The easiest way to implement api

I know I might be laughed at that bad place or something.

But I am not a programmer. I have some knowledge but rather little.

I would like to implement api on ready-made cms. How to approach this more easily?
Will you find some examples of how to do it in the shortest way?

It can be wordpress, mybboard, ipboard.

What does it want to do in a shortened form

The user creates a new post. Then i want the script to search for a keyword in this post e.g. "book" and it's best if this keyword is in a specific field/div(but, how to do a specific div in a post ?)

And then add to this keyword information from api. Thanks

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

The user creates a new post. Then i want the script to search for a keyword in this post e.g. "book" and it's best if this keyword is in a specific field/div(but, how to do a specific div in a post ?)

So it can't necessarily be any API, but something that finds this specific info and then presents it in an API format.

What you're looking for is a "scraper".

Python is probably the right environment to get this going in. If you can get a script up and running you should be able to tweak it to find the right info with a few if conditionals.

Turning it around and serving it. For me that next step is easy enough to think about, but I'm not sure how to simply explain it for you. There are lots of options, I'm not sure what is simplest but it might be possible to use AirTable for this which strikes me as possibly more friendly.

airtable.com/api

You might also be able to browse Glitch for something something you can work off of.

glitch.com

Collapse
 
shaccoo profile image
shaccoo

Okay, thanks a lot.

But from my side the least clear is the editing of the code of the current script. Do I need to know the language of cms ? How much ? How do I know what I need to change in the current script etc.?

I don't know if I understand correctly. Can I do everything or most of it in any language really ? How much (%) do I need to interfere with the current script in the csm?

Maybe there are some help, tools or ready-made solutions?