DEV Community

Sachin Ghait
Sachin Ghait

Posted on

Revisiting old ideas with #Hacktoberfest

Before knowing about hacktoberfest, I thought open source contributions are lot of time consuming, because of that I hesitated to know more about it.
But with hacktoberfest guidelines and explanation, it was more clear how we can contribute(in good quality and quantity).

I checked for git repos where I can contribute, and found some exciting projects.

Short brief of repos and contributions ✍️

  • 2 yrs ago, I wrote a script that will change my desktop background (scheduled it to run daily). Found similar project on github (python-backgroundchanger) which currently supports linux, macOS and windows support in pipeline. Contributed for adding unit tests there. It was fun learning about how an idea was converted into a python package.
  • This is simple project to manage your notes -> vue-simple-notes. Contributed to setup unit tests, add server-less APIs(netlify functions) and secure hosting.
  • Another repo (GeneticDrawer) is about drawing using genetic algorithm. I worked on genetic algorithm in college, but after that didnt get a chance to revisite it again. But saw this repo and it was cool use case of it. Issue there was the processing was limited when browser tab become inactive. Fixed it by patching setTimeout and using web-worker.

My PR's 🎯

Alt Text

Conclusion 🤔

It was real nice experience participating in this event. I got some good amount of learning, In terms of creating and publishing package, secure hosting of full-stack projects, and a lot of other things (used github cli for first time).

Someone has said it correct

Challenges are what makes life interesting

Top comments (0)