DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 - Lab8 Did you say test?
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on • Updated on

OSD600 - Lab8 Did you say test?

This week in OSD600 (Open Source development) at Seneca, Lab8 required us to set up testing framework for our Link Checker, write the test and include a test for 200 and 404 Responses for a given URL. We had to add code coverage analysis and then merge the testing into our project. Then we had to add continuous integration and add a test to someone else's project.

Since my project is in node.js I needed to do the necessary reading to figure out how I was going to create this test. I created an index.test.js file that runs the test and then added code that supported the test in my Link Checker. After I ran the test I saved, commit my changes to the testing branch and created the PR and merged testing.

Alt Text

The next thing I had to do was supposed to be simple. I had a file path issue when I tried to create the PR to Test my CI. As a student, our knowledge only goes so far. I tried to move the packages.json and that didn't work. I consulted some friends in and out of the class. Seemed like I ran in full circle ending up back with the same issue. I tried so many things that I have a very long list of commits to the branch. After 4 hours of not being able to figure out what to do, our awesome professor came to my rescue. Something I need to pay attention to when creating a project. File path is important and obviously I need more practice. After I created the node.js.yml and made the PR, the file path was fixed and merged to my project.

I will admit, I was a little hesitant creating a test for my friend's Link Checker. I added more to his test and then noticed he had some minor errors. I fixed the errors and then tested his project. All was good so I proceeded to create the PR. My friend happy with the test and the fixes, he merged this PR.

Now that I've learned more about testing, I feel that it is important to learn more. I need way more practice of course and I'm sure that these mistakes I've made along the way won't be the last. I also feel like I have barely scraped surface of the knowledge on how to use git. When I'm finished, I will get to reading that git book I purchased!

Top comments (0)