DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 - Release 0.4 First PR - Front end Glory
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

OSD600 - Release 0.4 First PR - Front end Glory

Here at Seneca OSD600 is an Open Source development class where we learn how to contribute to open source and manage our own projects. For Release 0.4 we are required to contribute 3 PR's (pull request). I found this issue on telescope. The problem was that there was a wrong function name in a file. I changed the function name and created my PR. Right then discovered two errors, one of them was in another file. That error became a new issue on telescope as it was unrelated to what I was working on.

Alt Text

At first it was suggested that I change onScroll to onClick, however in this error the onScroll prop needed to be added in the propTypes. I added the onScroll to the propTypes and waited for the approvals. Horay, approvals came in and my changes were merged.

Somehow in this process, I became more familiar with the telescope project and how it works. Even recently I asked a friend to share what he was tried to do for another class. I think for the first time I looked at a new project I understood what they were trying to accomplish. Of course this one was much smaller then telescope. I feel like I made progress!

Top comments (0)