DEV Community

Cover image for TODO 9/2 - 9/8 & Review on Last Week
Tina Bu
Tina Bu

Posted on

TODO 9/2 - 9/8 & Review on Last Week

I am feeling more and more confident about my planning skills as this thread keeps building. Once again I finished all of the 3 top priorities I set up for last week 🥳

  • KeepTruckin Interview ✅
    • Pramp prep
    • Prepare questions
    • Interview on Friday
  • Resume ✅
    • 1 pomo Kuzushiji
    • Finalize and send out to Lynne
  • Noom daily checkin ✅

I came back from Houston mid-week. It was really fun and the people are super nice. Our HQ is also very cool. All the people there are quite nice and chill. Not sure why our center has to be so old with an ex-electrical technician as our head of digital security.

Interview with KeepTruckin went okay. It's a platform engineer role and I told the hiring manager I don't really have relevant experience. He encouraged me to do the interview anyway and I tried my best. I definitely see my lack of knowledge in API and infrastructure design but I don't think I can do better than that. Especially given it's a 5 round back-to-back interview for 6 hours straight without any break.

I applied for a few roles I am interested in from KeyValues and am very excited to see if I will hear back from any of them soon. I also joined a job hunting group and hope to learn and contribute in the community. My H1B RFE documents were received by USCIS too and hopefully it can get approved.

My weight loss plan with Noom is going well too. Much better than I expected actually. I was going to cancel the plan after the free trial but I might consider keeping it now. I talked about it on Twitter but somehow the html link for the tweet doesn't work here 😿


I am dedicating this week to job hunting as well. And my mantra is, ba dum ba dum bam, dream big!

I tried to apply to some big companies but never heard back from them so I kinda gave up. But I don't want to tell myself that I am not capable of getting attractions from all kinds of roles so will definitely apply to a few more again this week and ask for referrals whenever I can. My 3 priorities this week are:

  • apply to 2+ jobs per day
    • research big tech companies for data scientist roles
    • incomplete list: LinkedIn, Twitter, Google, Amazon, Uber
    • ask for referrals/apply
  • Kuzushiji
    • 2 pomo daily
  • Dingpy Article
    • revise
    • submit to publication

Another exciting thing is I am going to a live podcast session on Friday in New York! The podcast is called By The Book and I have been binge listening since I found out about it.

All right friends see you next week!


Cover photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Top comments (0)