DEV Community

Travis Campbell
Travis Campbell

Posted on

My New Daily Life

Being on a team

This week was my first week actually a part of a team at my employer host. It is an incredibly exciting experience seeing how they all work together, the amount of work they get done everyday along with how communicative they are with one another. They are constantly keeping each other updated as to their own individual progress on specific tasks or incidents within the project.

I unfortunately, due to technical difficulties, was not able to set up my development environment properly in order to help them due to application permission issues. However it should be remedied and I should be good to go come next Tuesday when I am back with working with the team.

Despite my short attention span and easiness to get socially drained in meetings, the meetings I have been a part of with the team so far have surprisingly kept my attention pretty well. Although many of the terms or incidents they are referring to I have no clue what they mean, I am still engaged 95% of the time which is honestly an accomplishment for my brain so let's go.

Let's Gooo!


New Responsibilities

My day to day responsibilities are, as of right now, a lot more open than I expected. I have things I need to do and I do them relatively quickly giving time to focus on other things if need be. However I am familiar with the Agile software development cycle so when I was introduced to the team, I had expected the daily meetings for the current sprint, although the specifics in terms of how they run their meetings are slightly different than I expected, but definitely in a good way!

With the work as part of the apprenticeship side of things, it's smaller amounts for sure, but it's digestible and achievable considering the two days a week we are 'assigned' to be doing their work.

I'm not sure how different things will be from here on, now that my Umbrella Project is going to be kicking off, along with actually getting to work with my team at my employer host, but so far it's almost exactly how I imagined things would go, minus the pretty open ended learning and guidance side of things, which is amazing.

Teamwork


Aims for next Time

I'm going to try to have a section for aims or goals to get done over the span of the next week, as it may help have a written goal list. Although some may end up taking longer or be more difficult than expected, I think it may help with keeping me on track.

Firstly, I want to make sure my dev environment is completely done and configured. Although the issue with permissions is done, and the tools are being installed as I write this, I know there's a lot of configuration I'm going to have to do, along with just setting up the tools properly.

Then I really want to make some headway in my umbrella project, we have the front end properly receiving a GET request from our back end API which gets some data from our database, which is not a lot overall, but its a start. I want to get some more processing in the back end so we can get a POST or UPDATE request (preferably both although I'm not sure if I can achieve both) working so that data can start to be inputted into the front end and then stored in the DB.

Finally, I want to do some small task with my employer host project. I'm not sure what exactly, but I just want to get some kind of small bug fixed, maybe work with someone directly and help provide ideas for achieving a specific goal. But for sure get a small bug fix, and learn the project space at the very least.

Start from the beginning

Top comments (0)