DEV Community

DeChamp for Varymade

Posted on

Looking for a few helping hands!

So I recently created a website https://gidgitz.com which is a website to help developers with some tools and resources they use daily. I would love to meet a few developers that would like to be part of the project. I want to start off small so we can organize and get a flow going.

I hope to keep it free if possible, as I'm a dad and can't really afford an expensive server fee lol. If you want to contribute (no pay :P) just to be part of it and add your touch to it, then message me!

Thank you!

--DeChamp

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
pskirko profile image
Peter Skirko

Have you considered building your tools into an IDE plugin/extension? For example, for VS Code using the Extension API?

A few points:

1) You could say, one goal of a tool-maker is to be "readily available", to minimize the gap between a) wanting to use a tool, and b) actually accessing/using it. By being directly in an IDE, you really minimize that gap (for users of that IDE).

2) VS Code is really well thought-out, I'm impressed.

3) Tools can live everywhere. You can do a website and a plugin/extension, etc. Of course its more time/effort.

I would offer to help but I have negligible free time for the foreseeable future!

Collapse
 
stereoraj profile image
Rajesh Prasad

Hi, I would really like to contribute to the back-end of the site. Let me know if we can connect and discuss about it.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp • Edited

You have to follow me, for us to message each other.

Collapse
 
betkowski profile image
Betkowski

Hey there, if at any point you need a designer, give me a shout.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

I'm open for ideas on improving the UI/UX. If you have suggestions, please let me know!

Collapse
 
sturzl profile image
Avery

What stack? I'm looking to learn something new!

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

The stack is nextjs/react, scss. The backend api will been via nodejs but is not being applied yet.

Collapse
 
emgodev profile image
Michael

I'd be interested in contributing to the frontend.

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Ok awesome. Give it a look and let me know your thoughts. Just message me on here and we can discuss details.

Collapse
 
joel profile image
Joel Krause

Hey!
I’d be keen to lend a hand on the frontend aspect of the site! Let’s chat 😊