DEV Community

Victor Osório
Victor Osório

Posted on • Updated on

I am a Java Architect, Ask Me Anything!

I'm a Java Architect and I want to learn how to share more about Java. What Java developers want to know more?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
thorstenhirsch profile image
Thorsten Hirsch • Edited

How do you approach long-term decisions like selecting the ORM that is being used in all your java projects, or deciding when a technology needs to be phased out? Are you mostly researching on your own, do you have peers you need to consulate, and who has the power to make a decision if architects don't agree with each other?

Collapse
 
vepo profile image
Victor Osório • Edited

When It is a bug on my code, I just write a test to fail with the big, then try to fix it.
When It is some framework or language problem, I just google the stacktrace!
Stackoverflow and any other community os a great place to find solutions. For me, a developer to waste a lot of time when other know what to do is wasting time.
Yesterday I found a solution for a problem with Thorntail and Hollow Jar with few google searching...
PS.: I write a test too!
Pss.: Here an example of a simple solution I found on Stackoverflow. It was faster than reading trying over and over and over....

Collapse
 
vepo profile image
Victor Osório

Yes! We are still using Java 8, I see legacy everywhere! We use Azul JVM

We do not use Spring Boot... because only Spring Boot support Spring Boot! We use Jakarta EE, powered by Thorntail... and We will start the migration to Quarkus in the middle of the year.

Collapse
 
geocine profile image
Aivan Monceller

More Vert.x content

Collapse
 
vepo profile image
Victor Osório

Yes, but not for now!

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

Is it necessary to update to Java 9 Modules, or will I be able to continue using the "classpath" instead of "modulepath" into the future?

Collapse
 
shreyasht profile image
Shreyash

When hiring a junior architect or a principal engineer, what is it that you look for in a person?

Collapse
 
shreyasht profile image
Shreyash

What does your day to day looks like for an architect position?