DEV Community

Jesse M. Holmes
Jesse M. Holmes

Posted on

I just discovered Rainmeter

It's like Conky, but for Windows. I plan on integrating some work events into my skins, but here is my mostly stock beginnings:

My Rainmeter setup

Who else has experience with Rainmeter?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
jsrn profile image
James

I used to love Rainmeter. I haven't used it in a very long time, but I would spend ages playing with both that and conky, displaying all my stats etc. on my desktop.

I bet you can do some absolutely wild stuff with it these days, perhaps I should check it out again.

Thanks for the blast from the past!

Collapse
 
shindakun profile image
Steve Layton • Edited

Used to use it back in the day. Was a big fan of LiteStep before that. Can't tell you how much time I lost to making my "perfect" interface lol. It changed every couple of days too. I've lost most of the screenshots but, here's one from 09/28/06!

092806 Current Desktop

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I like that calendar! I've always wanted a separate monitor that JUST displayed this stuff. Totally wasteful. Completely worth it. 🤣

Collapse
 
gaveen profile image
Gaveen Prabhasara • Edited

Haven't used either Conky or Rainmeter in a long time. Just wanted to share that Rainmeter pre-dates Conky by a number of years IIRC. It's one of the good memories trying to mod Windows back then. I'm sure it's much different now.

It's definitely nit-picky, but it felt just a little wrong to read, like how off it would sound, to people above a certain age if you hear 'SourceForge is like GitHub'. :)

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I stand corrected!

I got something from sourceforge recently. That brought back memories. Cnet, anyone?

Collapse
 
tsullivanphoto profile image
Theresa

Wow, Rainmeter is still around! What a pleasant surprise. I loved it and used it religiously 10-15 years ago. I might have to check it out again :)

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I just realized that midnight-me didn't notice how blurry the interfaces are on my HiDPI monitor.