DEV Community

wolfiton
wolfiton

Posted on

ExecCommand obsolete can't find an alternative(confused)

Hi everyone,

So execCommand is obsolete right now, MDN doesn't offer an alternative.

MDN link: execCommand

Can someone point me at what the alternative is?

Thanks

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
kbiedrzycki profile image
Kamil Biedrzycki

Any specific use case that you need exec command for?

Collapse
 
wolfiton profile image
wolfiton

Hi @kamilbiedrzycki, I need that command because I wanted to make my own js editor for a svelte app.
Because I need some custom editing option for SEO for an experiment I am planing.

Collapse
 
kbiedrzycki profile image
Kamil Biedrzycki

I guess you can try how trix-editor.org/ is implemented, seems like they try to avoid execCommand.

Thread Thread
 
wolfiton profile image
wolfiton

Thanks @kamilbiedrzycki