DEV Community

Adrian Kim
Adrian Kim

Posted on

Algorithms...

Algorithms felt like a barrier to entry, gatekeeping the non-college educated programmers out the 6-figure-salary door. At first glance, algorithms are confusing and archaic and truth be told, I had no problem working on countless projects without them. What's the big deelio?

As a self taught programmer, algorithms were the bane of my existence. Pre made schools of thought that aid in organizing your programs. Doesn't sound so fun eh? Trust me I thought the same.

It wasn't until I read a well-written book called Grokking Algorithms that my life got flipped-turned upside down.

The more I look into algorithms, the more I understand the thought process behind its practice. Without stating the obvious, after knocking the surface of algorithms, I feel like I unlocked a new finishing move. My APIs and script structures feel more organized and I have a better idea of which algorithm I should utilize for time, efficiency, or accuracy.

Honestly, I felt pretty dumb that it took me so long to get around to algorithms. Just like artist study the work of the old masters, programmers must study the work of archaic algorithms. Better late than never.

Top comments (0)