DEV Community

Cover image for Polygon BUIDL -IRL (🧱,πŸš€): A Five-Day long workshop filled with lots of learning
Yajvendra Saini
Yajvendra Saini

Posted on

Polygon BUIDL -IRL (🧱,πŸš€): A Five-Day long workshop filled with lots of learning

What was the BUIDL IRL (🧱,πŸš€)?

Polygon Guild Jaipur organized a comprehensive five-day workshop called BUDIL-IRL, which focused on Web3 development and the latest tools for building decentralized applications for developers to learn and build on the Polygon Network.

The workshop series covered a wide range of topics related to Web3 and NFT collection dapp creation. These topics included the basics of Web3 and blockchain technology, Smart Contracts, Solidity programming language, Hardhat, ERC20 and ERC721 tokens standards for NFTs, we all participants also learned how to connect the backend with the smart contracts and created a user-friendly dapp.

Participants also learned how to test and deploy smart contracts using Hardhat and AlchemyPlatform on the Mumbai Testnet and how to connect WalletConnect to the dapp.

Here are the topics that were covered during the BUDIL-IRL workshop.

  • Building an NFT Collection (Day-1)
  • Building an NFT Staking dApp (Day-2)
  • Making a dApp Gassless (Day-3)
  • Building with Polygon ID (Day-4)
  • Building on Polygon zkEVM (Day-5)

What was I doing before attending BUIDL IRL?

Before attending BUIDL-IRL I was learning about Web3. I was just learning and increasing my knowledge in the field of Web3/blockchain. I was not doing any development in the Web3 space. I was a Web2 guy with knowledge of Web3.

I was familiar with Web2 technologies and I was building in Web2 space and also I was having knowledge of Web3 technology but I was not building anything in Web3 space.

My main motivation to attend this workshop was that it is going to be a hands-on workshop in which we all have to learn by building. And this was the great start of my journey in Web3. I wrote my first smart contract during this workshopπŸ”₯.

What I have built during the BUIDL-IRL?

Image description

In this BUIDL-IRL workshop series, there were 5 projects to work on, but unfortunately, I was only able to attend this workshop for 2 days due to some reason.

But this was an amazing experience of learning about smart contracts & how to deploy them on polygon testnet and how to integrate them with the front end in just 2 days.

On the very first day of the workshop, I was able to write my very first smart contract using Solidity, a programming language used to build smart contracts on the Ethereum blockchain. I was thrilled to learn about different types of ERC tokens, and how to write a contract for minting and transferring NFTs.

It was amazing to see how powerful these contracts can be, and how they can potentially revolutionize industries like art and music.

One of the most exciting parts of the workshop was learning how to test and deploy a smart contract using Hardhat and AlchemyPlatform on the Mumbai Testnet. This was crucial in helping me understand how smart contracts work in a real-world scenario. I also learned about WalletConnect, a secure way to connect mobile wallets and desktop applications. This was essential in helping me build a more secure and trustworthy Web3 application.

On the second day of the workshop, I learned about some cool React concepts, including the Web3 model and Wagmi. I was able to learn how to connect WalletConnect to the dapp, which was another valuable lesson in building secure and user-friendly applications.

Overall, the Polygon BUILD-IRL workshop was a fantastic experience. I was able to learn from some of the brightest minds in the industry, and I gained a deeper understanding of how blockchain technology and Web3 can change the world.

This workshop can not be possible without Polygon-Jaipur, Megabyte(🧱,πŸš€) & Boidushya

What do I know after attending BUIDL-IRL?

After attending this workshop I come back with lots of learning. I got to learn how to build a dapp on the Polygon Network and how to deploy it on testnet.

These are the following my main takeaways from the workshop:

  • First and the main takeaway from this workshop was to learn how to build a dapp and deploy it on testnet.
  • I learn how to write a smart contract.
  • Get to know about the ERC tokens and what are the different types of ERC tokens.
  • I interact with the frontend part of the NFT collection and I learn about some of the main and useful concepts of React while working on the front end of the website.
  • learn how to stake and NFT and learn how to side a smart contract for it.
  • I also get to know about the various web3 development tools and technologies such as Solidity, ERC Tocns, Wagmi, Testnet, WalletConnect and many more things.

Overall, attending BUIDL-IRL was an incredible experience, and I am eager to apply all the knowledge and skills I gained during the workshop to my future projects.πŸš€

Top comments (0)