DEV Community

Cover image for One year of using Ubuntu as daily Operating System from Microsoft Windows
Yuqing Ma
Yuqing Ma

Posted on

One year of using Ubuntu as daily Operating System from Microsoft Windows

Background Information
Firstly, personal information about myself, I am a software developer and uses computer mainly for writing codes and internet surfacing. Sometimes, I cut video and edit photos. Secondly, computer hardware information, CPU is Ryzen 5 2400G and GPU is Radeon RX 470. I built the computer from parts and forgot about the wireless internet, so I use a usb plugged WIFI internet card instead.

Image description
General Taste
I don’t want to use Microsoft Windows 11 anymore, unless I have to do it.
Pros of Ubuntu
It is clean. The desktop is clean. The background app is clean. The menu is clean. In Windows 11 System, there is a weather widgets. For me, it is the most useless and annoying feature on the taskbar. When the mouse is over the weather section, a window jump out and cover a third of my screen, containing advertisement and outdated news from old media. There are also advertisement start menu of classic Windows. In Ubuntu there are zero
advertisement and no such hover over window like weather widgets. In Windows 11, all the apps try to get a place at the desktop if not it will be tricky to find them. Then the desktop becomes crowded. Also many apps want to start when the operating system boost up. I know that I can set them not to do it, but sometime they start in the background. Then I find out my computer becomes mysteriously slow down. It need to be cleaned out and reset manually.
Here it is my desktop.

Image description
It does all the tasks I demanded. It is capable with all the code editing program and has basic apps such as browsers, LibreOffice, printer drivers, database management and social medias… We use more and more online editing also. For example, google drive is able to edit all documents. Canva is great for videos and photos and more. There are also free and more powerful with AI assistance.
Due to its free and open-source Linux-based operating system, the system’s tools are more user friendly than Microsoft. Here is an example of screenshot.

Image description
Cons of Ubuntu
It takes time to adapt it. It requires users search information online to install apps and drivers. It could be pros if you want to learn how Operating System and software works behind the sceens.
It doesn’t have video games. Also, it could be pros if you want to be effective and get ride of addiction.

Top comments (0)