DEV Community

Cover image for I made a Color Scheme for Programming Using Math
Zeno Rocha
Zeno Rocha

Posted on

I made a Color Scheme for Programming Using Math

It's been almost 7 years since I launched Dracula as an open source project.

Today I'm launching Dracula PRO.

🤔 The problem

In 2013, my laptop was stolen, so I had to re-configure everything. At that time, there were thousands of color schemes for programming out there, but none of them were appealing to me. So I decided to create my own.

Fast forward to 2020, Dracula is one of the most popular themes in the world with more than 2 million downloads. Still, I felt that something was missing. I wanted to help with more than just a theme.

🛠 My solution

I decided to create a new color scheme using mathematical concepts to normalize lightness and saturation. I also tested the contrast ratio for better visibility on low-light environments.

Besides that, I hand-picked 4 monospaced programming fonts that fit perfectly with the theme. These fonts have built-in ligature support that improves readability.

Dracula PRO is everything I know about color schemes, typography, and productivity tips into one package.

🧛‍♂️ What do you think?

I would love to hear your thoughts on this. And if you have any questions, please do comment

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
developeratul profile image
Minhazur Rahman Ratul

I have been using Dracula for quite a long. I recently purchased the pro version of it and I am absolutely loving it. If I have an editor like that, I can code all day long!

Dracula Pro