DEV Community

abaskarasingham
abaskarasingham

Posted on

A New Beginning

About Me

Hi all, my name is Arhchuthan Baskarasingham! I am a computer programming student in the Computer Programming & Analysis program (CPAC). My main programming languages of interest are C++, C and JavaScript. I am mainly interested in web design and have a general interest in game design. I am currently taking this course (OSD600) because I was always curious of how Open Source Development worked and was hoping to experience something new out of my comfort zone.

What I Am Hoping To Accomplish

As mentioned before, I have a general interest in game design and wanted to see if I could contribute my skills in C/C++ to any Open Source projects regarding game design. I have used this program before called the CEMU emulator to emulate video games for the WII U console, and I was amazed at what the creators were able to achieve. They were able to emulate the games as close as possible to the original and even provide options to play them in 4k resolution (an option that was not possible on the original WII U console). I'm hoping I could contribute to a project in regards to game emulation.

Trending GitHub Repo

Original repo:

GitHub logo RPCS3 / rpcs3

PS3 emulator/debugger

RPCS3

Azure Build Status Cirrus CI - Base Branch Build Status RPCS3 discord server

The world's first free and open-source PlayStation 3 emulator/debugger, written in C++ for Windows and Linux.

You can find some basic information on our website. Game info is being populated on the Wiki For discussion about this emulator, PS3 emulation, and game compatibility reports, please visit our forums and our Discord server.

Support Lead Developers Nekotekina and kd-11 on Patreon

Contributing

If you want to help the project but do not code, the best way to help out is to test games and make bug reports. See:

If you want to contribute as a developer, please take a look at the following pages:

You should also contact any of the developers in the forums or in the Discord server to learn more about the current state of the emulator.

Building

See BUILDING.md for more information about how to setup an…


Forked repo:

GitHub logo abaskarasingham / rpcs3

PS3 emulator/debugger

RPCS3

Azure Build Status Cirrus CI - Base Branch Build Status RPCS3 discord server

The world's first free and open-source PlayStation 3 emulator/debugger, written in C++ for Windows and Linux.

You can find some basic information on our website. Game info is being populated on the Wiki For discussion about this emulator, PS3 emulation, and game compatibility reports, please visit our forums and our Discord server.

Support Lead Developers Nekotekina and kd-11 on Patreon

Contributing

If you want to help the project but do not code, the best way to help out is to test games and make bug reports. See:

If you want to contribute as a developer, please take a look at the following pages:

You should also contact any of the developers in the forums or in the Discord server to learn more about the current state of the emulator.

Building

See BUILDING.md for more information about how to setup an…

I found a trending GitHub repo called rpcs3 which is a Open Source PlayStation 3 Emulator and debugger written in C++ for Windows, Linux, macOS, and FreeBSD. Not only have I picked this due to being interested in game emulation, but I was surprised to see this on the trending GitHub page as I was just trying out this emulator for the first time last summer. I remember reading about how most of the popular triple A games were not as accessible for most computers on the low to mid tier end, as well as some high end computers due to not being optimized at the moment. I even had some trouble with running some PS3 games myself on the emulator and was wondering when it would be optimized for more computers. Perhaps I could contribute to this GitHub repo to assist in the optimization of rpcs3?

Top comments (0)