DEV Community

Abhay Srivastav
Abhay Srivastav

Posted on

All in favor of Typescript ?

Typescript any meme

As a long term Javascript developer, I feel that using typescript takes away the easiness that comes with Javascript. And it creates a very restrictive development experience.
Also there's a learning curve to Typescript. Typescript shouldn't be imposed in my opinion.

Here's an interesting poll, for the case again Typescript.

Love or hate Typescript ? Vote here

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
silviohfc profile image
Silvio Ferreira

I think it's two different proposals, JS offers more easiest and fast way to build some kind of small/medium apps, but in my opinion in large and scalable apps TS make it better for maintanance and new features.

So yeah TS shouldn't be imposed everywhere, but this may vary in each scenario

Collapse
 
decker67 profile image
decker

Typescript makes simple things hard to read and restricts me to much. It makes you think in classes with interfaces and inheritance not needed any more.

Collapse
 
abhay07 profile image
Abhay Srivastav • Edited

Exactly, my team spends hours to fix typescript issues specifically. Life was easier with dynamic typing. I still prefer js to quickly develop something.

Collapse
 
mbarzda profile image
Martynas Barzda • Edited

TypeScript is better than JSDoc comments for types checking and supplements "code should document itself" recommendation. Btw, there is proposal for typed js devblogs.microsoft.com/typescript/... . If it will be implemented, then TypeScript will be obsolete 😄

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

While I don't love it, I think that it's going some way to helping stop people from writing fascinatingly awful Javascript.

Collapse
 
abhay07 profile image
Abhay Srivastav

That's true. But we can write awful code in any language, if we don't understand what we are doing.

Collapse
 
bwca profile image
Volodymyr Yepishev

I find pure js repulsive, so I do everything in typescript, but each to their own :)