DEV Community

abnercabrera28
abnercabrera28

Posted on

First Mile Blog Post

My name is Abner Cabrera and I've just completed the first two weeks of online software engineering classes at Flatiron. For a second there, I didn't think I was going to make it, but I'm still here. It was a challenging few days but it was well worth it. The reason I began taking these classes was to continue what I started when I was in college. My first year of college was at SUNYIT twelve years ago where I majored in computer engineering. I wanted to major in it because of how I was as young kid. In third grade I decided that I when I grew up I wanted to be a detective because I loved solving puzzles. As I grew older, I picked up a guitar and started learning and composing songs of my own. I came to realize that solving puzzles and learning and composing music are skills that can help in computer code, which is why I decided to study it in college. However, certain complications came up during my academic career that resulted in me switching majors and never completing that degree in computer engineering. Instead, I ended up graduating with a degree in romance languages and started my career in translation. Unfortunately, my job is very tedious since I'm limited to only translating from one language to another. I took this time while I was home during the pandemic to try to teach myself code again, but it was difficult on my own. Then I found out about the online software engineering Flatiron program and decided to enroll. I wanted to get back to how I started my academic career so that when I graduate, I can switch careers to get a job that's exciting and fun to do.

Top comments (0)