DEV Community

Adam Brandizzi
Adam Brandizzi

Posted on

Python Backup in the War on Cats

Hello friends! Since we're in Hacktoberfest, I thought: why not asking for help?

An app to disable keyboards etc.

I'm a developer, I work from home, I use Ubuntu, and I have cats. This all led to some issues:

My cat, Mel, sleeping on the keyboard of my laptop

So I created Input Device Indicator, a tiny Python applet to disable my keyboard and trackpad once my cat decides she wants to sleep in the warm of my computer.

That said, there are two improvements I'd really like to add to the applet that (I believe) are not that hard but I don't have much time right now.

So, if you

  • want to do something in Python (not related to data science) and
  • uses a desktop Linux OS

...we could use some help!

Arch Linux packaging

Recently I got this ticket asking for packaging for Arch Linux. I don't use Arch Linux so setting up everything to do it may take some time... If you already use the distro, even if you don't know how to package, we can work on it faster.

Localization

Currently, the applet text is only available in English. I'd like to make it localizable, by using gettext.

Would you like to help?

I guess these are not the most exciting tasks for most people, but I'm sure they are quite interesting for some more specific groups of developers. Also, I feel these tasks are simple enough to be doable by a beginner in short time, but challenging enough to show how "outdoors" development "feels".

Of course, I'll be here to help, even pairing and having video calls sometimes.

If you liked the idea, let me know!

I guess they are tasks simple enough to be doable by a beginner in short time, but challenging enough to show how "outdoors" development "feels".

Top comments (0)