DEV Community

Chargoy
Chargoy

Posted on

How to start with Git if you hate it and love TFS

I have worked with tfs for around 7 years, and when I change my job my new boss told me: here we don't use tfs, we use git with devops.
I thought ok that won't be difficult, but oh surprise it was so so so difficult, at the beginning I wanted to compare tfs with git ant tried to do the same things in the same way, that was my mistake because when we have worked with one technology for a long time your world is that technology, maybe it is not difficult to learn the new one but you don't want to leave the old one. who likes the ugly black console? that was my first impression, but I didn't have chose so I started to find some tutorials in god google.

I don't want to write a lot so I'll tell you my experience and what worked to me

  • first forget the details for the old technology in my case tfs.
  • Keep your mind open, don't be scared for change.
  • Go step by step, don't want to learn all in one day, sometimes because we know a lot of things in the old technology we want to know the same things in the new one, in this way you won't feel frustrated.
  • Follow simple tutorials, learn the basic things and then learn how to do the things that you have to do in your job, personal projects etc.

I hope you enjoy this small post and it will be useful for you. If you are interested here you go some resources that I used to start with git, I'm not an expert yet but helped me a lot.

url: https://medium.freecodecamp.org/learn-the-basics-of-git-in-under-10-minutes-da548267cc91

url: https://learngitbranching.js.org/?locale=en_US

Top comments (0)