DEV Community

alenroki
alenroki

Posted on

How to explain tech stuff to non-tech people?

I often feel frustrated when I have to explain concepts to non-tech members of the team. It could be explaining what a Pull Request is, what a branching strategy is, what is a pipeline in Azure DevOps and etc.

Even though I feel I have explained it well and even show cased it a couple of times, I still end up in long discussions at the meetings explaining the concepts again and again.

Has someone found a good strategy that works?

Maybe use drawings? Analogies to something non-technical?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
stevenjburrows profile image
Steven Burrows

Coming from an IT background I feel your pain. I have tried a few different ways but not found a solution that everyone understands without having to explain it over again. If you do find something I would be interested to know.