DEV Community

Alex Bunardzic
Alex Bunardzic

Posted on

Yogi Berra Explains Agile

Interviewer: Can you explain Agile?

Yogi: I can't, but I will. 90% of all Agile is half improvisation. The other half is the part people work on while others are working on something they never worked on with anyone who worked on that team. So if you work on the wrong part, it's right. If you work on the right part, it might be right if you work on it wrong enough. But if you work on it too right, it's wrong.

Interviewer: I don't understand.

Yogi: Anyone who understands Agile knows that you can't understand it. It's too complicated. That's what's so simple about it.

Interviewer: Do you understand it?

Yogi: No. That's why I can explain it. If I understood it, I wouldn't know anything about it.

Interviewer: Are there any great Agilists working today?

Yogi: No. All the great Agilists working today are retired. Except for the ones that are still working. But so many of them are retired, that the ones that are still working are retiring to be like the ones that are retired. Some would kill for it.

Interviewer: What is TDD?

Yogi: That's when the test that you should run now happens either before or after you actually run it. In Agile, you don't run tests when they happen because that would be some other type of development. Other types of development can be Agile, but only if they're the same as something different from those other kinds.

Interviewer: Now I really don't understand.

Yogi: I haven't taught you enough for you to not understand Agile that well.

Top comments (0)