DEV Community

Alex Shannon
Alex Shannon

Posted on

Less clutter, More information please

A while back my Nexus 5x died and I was very, very sad and begrudginly I got a new phone, well because I had to. So I decided to take this opputunity to re-organise my phone and the layout.
The phone I got was a WileyFox Swift 2X. I quickly installed Google Now launcher and was back in familar territory.

The change I decided was that instead of having many screens which had many small app icons on them (around 4 screens in total) I would instead limit myself to half the home screen for app icons (the other half being the clock widget I have) and only allow extra screens to show widgets.

Why?

Here's the thing, I was finding it harder and harder to get to the apps I wanted and I was also losing track of what apps were on my phone. Also I couldn't even remeber their names just the icon. This was a problem as when I had to reinstall a bunch of them (the ones not installed through the plays store) I ended up spending more time than I needed trying to recall what they were actually named.

So now my screens only display information to me, I can quickly swipe left and right to see actual information. If I need more information I can tap into the widget or I will just search and launch the app from the main app area.

Pros

I find myself quickly deleting any app that I don't need. My home screen feels less clutered and I spend less time trying to find apps on the home screen or coming up with the next awesome new folder layout. I'm also feel less templated to play distracting games that would otherwise be sitting there inticingly

Cons

I have since started to want more apps on the main screens so maybe I need to increase my area. As well many apps don't support widgets, instead doing the long press technique to show more options which I lose out on when they're not right there on the main screens.

Top comments (0)