DEV Community

Alvar Arias
Alvar Arias

Posted on

How to read data from Google Sheets using Sheetson

Introduction

To read data in Google Sheets you can use the Google API Here

You can also use a service that simplifies our authentication work and is ideal for testing an APP: Sheetson, this service simplifies development work, especially Google authentication, which can be complicated and take a long time, so this service It is ideal for developing prototypes and testing quickly and effectively.

The service works as follows: it offers a free version that works well and a payment for 10 USD per month. I used the free version and it worked well for me.

Description

To start, go to the website of the service Sheetson , register with your google account in the "Get Started" button under the free account.

Get Started

Once you are registered, press the "go to console" button that is at the top right of the page.

Console

Here you can see your name, your email and your API Key, you can also generate an API KEY for reading only.

Ready now you can see the page ”Examples” there you will find detailed examples in CURL and Javascript, for example to read data you can see the page:

Create Rows

Doc create rows

The examples are simple and well detailed so it won't take you long to understand the API.

In my case, I used it to make a GET API call and it connects to the Google Sheets spreadsheet with the information of the new users of my APP in SwiftUI that showed me the data correctly.

Diagram:

Diagram

In my App:

my App

Well, I hope I have been motivated to use this service, since in my case it helped me to finish my prototype quickly and visualize the information in my app correctly.

Top comments (0)