DEV Community

Cover image for πŸ”₯ FireUp CLI: Upload anything, right from your command-line
Amruth Pillai
Amruth Pillai

Posted on

πŸ”₯ FireUp CLI: Upload anything, right from your command-line

Hey DEV!

I'm back again with another free and open-source project, one that I've always wanted but never found online, so I just built it myself. It definitely has a lot of work to do, but it's in a quite usable stage right now for me to share it with you all :)

I've always found myself on the terminal 90% of the time when I'm on my computer. The first thing I do when I wake up is fire up the command line, git pull all my projects and then I drink my coffee.

Given this lifestyle, I've also found it a pain to find a place to upload a certain file when I need to share them with friends privately or upload an image publicly that I want to post on a forum/message board. Thus, fireup-cli was born. It taps into your Firebase Project's Storage Bucket to upload/download files to it, share links and delete them, all from your command line.

All your data is completely secure, with files being stored in your Firebase Storage Bucket and no one else's.

Demo GIF

Installing it on your machine is as simple as:

$ npm install --global fireup-cli
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Check the README for documentation on further setup:

GitHub logo AmruthPillai / fireup-cli

Upload anything, right from your command-line.

Eagerly awaiting your feedback and suggestions :)
Thank you all!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
incplusplus profile image
Ryan Cloherty

That's super cool. I'm not working with a Firebase project at the moment but I appreciate the functionality. I can't help but notice that some text appears while you're typing. Is this a history-based autosuggest functionality? If so, how do I get my hands on it?

Collapse
 
asadbaidar profile image
Muhammad Asad Baidar

Does it have ability to upload all files from a folder?