DEV Community

andymcbee
andymcbee

Posted on

Building The Odin Project's Final Javascript Project in Public (Intro and Roadmap)

Hi!

I am going to document the journey as I build a fullstack javascript application using Nodejs, React and Postgres.

I'm about two months into my learning journey, and this is by far the most advanced and complete project I am attempting.

It will also be my first self-directed full stack application, which is exciting to me!

What I'm building
The project is meant to touch on everything we have learned so far in The Odin Project's React section.

The application will be a business directory where you can search local businesses by city or by name. There will also be a login capability, so users can sign up and add their own business page.

Roadmap

This may change as I learn more while moving forward, but below is a plan of attack to accomplish this build.

Project Planning

  • Create a scope doc that maps out all relevant features needed
  • Create a basic wireframe of the design for all pages
  • Create a doc to design the database structure
  • Create a doc that outlines basic idea of how front and backend will work together

Project Setup

  • Setup a new Github repo and clone it locally
  • Setup basic file structure for front and backend
  • Setup basic React App that prints hello world
  • Setup Postgres
  • Setup backend and connect it to front end
  • Add dummy data to Postgres DB based on database design

Next Steps

Once I complete all of this, I will be able to create a plan of attack in terms of the build.

Alright... let's get it!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
donraspy profile image
DonRaspy

I'm excited to see this project unfold as I am currently in the Odin Project. Has there been any updates?