DEV Community

Cover image for A Simple Weather Web App
Arwaz Khan
Arwaz Khan

Posted on

A Simple Weather Web App

Hello Dev's,
I created a Simple Weather Web App using HTML, CSS, Javascript, and openweather API.

openweather API is a great data source for live weather reports. I am using this API because it is easy to implement and it is free to use (open source).

Demo - images

demo images

App Link:- https://arwazkhan189.github.io/Weather-app/
Code Link:- https://github.com/arwazkhan189/Weather-app
OpenWeather API Link:- https://openweathermap.org/

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
aminnairi profile image
Info Comment hidden by post author - thread only accessible via permalink
Amin

Well done! Careful mate when exposing your credentials since they can be abused by malicious persons. Nothing fancy, but worse that can happen is your account getting blocked or banned. Just a friendly reminder for client app security.

Collapse
 
arwazkhan189 profile image
Arwaz Khan

Thanks, I will take care of that.

Collapse
 
mateuszjansowa profile image
Info Comment hidden by post author - thread only accessible via permalink
Mateusz Sowa

You should at least hide your API key. I suggest using another .js module for that and .gitignore not to upload it.
Why do you declare variables using both ES5 and ES6 syntax? :) If you know ES6 it is better to stick with it :)
Apart from that nice design! Your app looks really decent :)

Collapse
 
geeksam09 profile image
Sam

Woah great for me, as a begineer I'll learn from it and try soon :)
Was awesome and the images changed onClick after I enter a number, right?

Collapse
 
arwazkhan189 profile image
Arwaz Khan

Thanks
No, you have to enter a city name then according to the weather condition of that city the background images will change.
Images might not be good as I am not professional at that. They all are stock images.

Collapse
 
geeksam09 profile image
Sam

Okay I've to look for city where there is rain .
Rest were good :)

Collapse
 
certos profile image
CERTOS

Nice work! It's inspired to see all your works and I am glad to a part of this DEV community.

Collapse
 
arwazkhan189 profile image
Arwaz Khan

yup!, Dev.to (DEV community) is a great platform to show your skills and learn something that changes your thinking.
I learn many things from here and share my experience. I have done many mistakes but the people of this community are so helpful and they help us in the right way.
Feeling great to join Dev.to 🙂

Thanks for appreciating my work. 🙏🙏🙏

Collapse
 
fahriwpd profile image
Fahri

It's great

Collapse
 
arwazkhan189 profile image
Arwaz Khan

Thanks 🙏

Collapse
 
rootkali profile image
0xKali

Great work!! I did go through the github, but I noticed that some confidential data was left in the open. Not great from a security standpoint.

Some comments have been hidden by the post's author - find out more