DEV Community

Austin
Austin

Posted on

Building Discord4J

Discord4J

One of my first major projects was forking the now-defunct nerd/Discord4J repository. It is a Java library for building chatbots for the Discord chat platform. I originally was just a major contributor, contributing many PRs but I soon turned into the maintainer. Under me, I was able to amass a few hundred stars, get a handful of volunteer staff to help development, and foster a friendly community of hundreds of Java developers.

Link to Code

GitHub logo Discord4J / Discord4J

A fast and reactive JVM-based REST/WS wrapper for the official Discord Bot API, written in Java

Discord4J

Support Server Invite Maven Central Javadocs CircleCI branch

A fast, reactive Java wrapper for the official Discord Bot API.

Built with Reactor, Netty, and a focus on flexibility, Discord4J provides an effective, non-blocking interface for creating Discord bots. The reactive and asynchronous nature of the library allows for scalability through backpressure handling and the efficient use of resources. Its modularized structure gives the user the ability to tailor their experience to different levels of abstraction and pick the right tools for the job.

Installation

Current stable releases are from 3.0.x. Check the branch for instructions.

Instructions to use our latest pre-releases from master branch (3.1.x):

Gradle
repositories {
  mavenCentral()
}
dependencies {
  implementation 'com.discord4j:discord4j-core:3.1.0.RC1'
}
Maven
<dependencies&gt
  <dependency&gt
    <groupId>com.discord4j</groupId>
    <artifactId>discord4j-core</artifactId>
    <version>3.1.0.RC1</version>
  </dependency>
</dependencies>
SBT
libraryDependencies ++= Seq(
  "com.discord4j

Additional Thoughts / Feelings / Stories

I've met many people over the course of the development of Discord4J. From them I have learned a lot about development. I don't think I would be where I am today without the Discord4J community. I am extremely thankful for everyone that has been in some way involved in the community! Especially to the other developers that have picked up the slack while I have been busy with school work.

Top comments (0)