DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What new releases are you most excited about these days?

Libraries, platforms, ecosystems, what are you into these days?

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
rgolawski profile image
Rafał Goławski • Edited

Gaming wise - GTA 6 obviously! 😅 But jokes aside - I'm eagerly awaiting the official release of React Server Components and am curious about how it will impact the React community and ecosystem.

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

We managed to build react server components with express for WebCrumbs (GitHub here). Still experiment with alternatives and checking pros and cons. Feel free to join us or watch us in our mission.

Collapse
 
g1itcher profile image
G1itcher

Been using them in a large Nextjs project for a little while now and so far they're not great. Feel like a stepping stone to something better.

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

I would love to know a bit more about your experience. Perhaps it's something we make it work for WebCrumbs. Are you open to talk? I'd love to pick your brain.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'll start with a non-obvious choice: Ruby on Rails.

Yes, it's the good-ole framework I've been using forever, but I am really satisfied with the combination of stability and long-held conventions with the new stuff being pushed out which is generally designed for simplicity in the age of increasing complexity.

Turbo, Solid Cache, and Litestack, come to mind as interesting stuff I'm really happy is happening. It's all kind of "boring", but in an exciting way!

Collapse
 
artxe2 profile image
Yeom suyun

The library I am looking forward to the most is Svelte 5.
I tried the alpha version, and the code works much more rationally than in the previous version.
I am currently using Java 21 for work, and I am really enjoying it.
There are some major performance improvements, but the switch statement is very reasonable.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

For me, it's been my own release dates recently with my Refactoring with C# book releasing late last month, working towards the release of my LinkedIn Learning course in Q2 2024, and another book in Q3 2024.

As far as external content - mostly .NET releases every fall, but with sneak peaks at the things Microsoft announces at their two major conferences, those new products and product improvements are starting to get just as important to me since I can anticipate their launch.

Collapse
 
tyisi profile image
TyIsI

At the risk of sounding like a self-centered bafoon... My own (FOSS) releases.

And especially with releasing implementations in new languages for the framework that I'm developing. Pushing myself to explore some of the limits of languages is equally interesting and satisfying!

It started off with a PHP implementation about 10-15 years ago, which I've now about rewritten to support current PHP versions. I've also implemented a JS/TS variant and wrote a dynamic class loading module to deal with configuration based module definitions in the process. And I'm excited to implement it in Java and Python. The latter will probably be up first. And this is proving to being a bit of a catalyst to learn Go and perhaps Rust!

I should really do a post about it. But seeing my vision pan out and still hold up after so long is making me excited to release it.

But to not leave anyone wondering, it is essentially a runtime environment agnostic middleware framework that allows code re-use across runtimes. Similar to what the PHP runtime effort has been doing, but more flexible and configurable.

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

Really nice! Do you have a GitHub repo we can follow?

Collapse
 
tyisi profile image
TyIsI

github.com/Colore is where everything is at. I do really need to update docs and whatnot though!

Collapse
 
shubhadip_bhowmik profile image
Shubhadip Bhowmik

Hello @ben ❣️
In the realm of new releases, my excitement revolves around the unfolding advancements in AI and machine learning. The innovative strides made in this domain, be it breakthroughs in natural language processing, computer vision, or autonomous systems, are reshaping industries and daily life. Moreover, the emergence of new tools and frameworks is propelling accessibility, enabling a broader community to engage and contribute to this transformative field. These developments not only signify technological progress but also herald the potential for unprecedented societal evolution. What about you? What areas are capturing your enthusiasm amidst the latest releases?

Collapse
 
jjokah profile image
John Johnson Okah

Mistral model release.

Collapse
 
nlxdodge profile image
NLxDoDge

Anything Rust, Vue, Java or PHP related. As I still am actively working with those languages/frameworks.
And Astro sometimes as my blogs is written in that.

Collapse
 
gupta0112 profile image
gupta

google gemini

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That makes sense