DEV Community

Bigyan Karki
Bigyan Karki

Posted on

What the heck am I building?

Before answering the question, let's start with the problem.

  1. Our files are scattered everywhere.
    I send files via Gmail to friends, upload them to Slack and Discord for work, and store personal documents in Google Drive and on my local machine. I even have tons of notes in OneNote. Finding a specific file, like my 2 a.m. thoughts, becomes a challenge. Was it in OneNote or Google Docs? And if it's in Google Docs, which of the hundreds of folders? Maybe I sent it to a friend via email or even Discord?
    This problem is magnified in teams where files are constantly sent across members, making search and management a daunting task. In a large company, it's common to send the same file multiple times to the same employee simply because they couldn't find it.

  2. Inefficient use of stored information.
    In one way or another, we all have a vast internal knowledge base. Most internet users store files in storage systems like Google Drive, Obsidian, or Notion. But we often don't make good use of these stored knowledge bases. Consider this scenario: I'm struggling to solve a complex Calculus question. I have my Calculus book, which contains information on how to solve such problems. Even if it doesn't have the answer to the specific question I'm working on, it has the steps, rules, and information needed to solve it. Why can't I simply ask my book for the steps that would lead me to the solution? Additionally, if I want to write an article about the Amazon forest and have related materials in my Google Drive, why can't I use them to help write the article?

These are the two main problems we are trying to solve at The Drive AI. First, we aim to be a Dropbox for your knowledge base. Users can simply upload or sync documents to create a structured repository of information. Currently, you must manually manage these documents into files and folders, but our goal is to automatically organize them by content. For example, all content related to music theory would be found in one specific folder.

We treat each folder as a knowledge base, a single source of truth to draw information from. So, if you forgot what notes are in Misolydian mode, you can simply ask the music theory knowledge base. Sure you can search the internet for notes in Misolydian mode, but the core idea holds for internal teams and personal documents. Imagine an emergency at a company, and you need to find information on what protocols to follow in the face of an emergency.

With access to this knowledge base, we can tackle the second problem. We can use those files while reading to understand concepts better, search over them to quickly find information, and write new content with sources drawn from them.

This is what we are working on at https://thedrive.ai

Full article here: https://thedrive.ai/publish/ebfb16a7d2cfde880df194bfd72178c2:9f7272e3919e859c34e796679a9206b896594e0834888db4a18ee7b50cda83407c011872e6dff7dae582bdc83996e386

Top comments (0)