DEV Community

christine kinahan
christine kinahan

Posted on

My App

Introducing Easy Algorithm
Something I would love to make is an app that helps people to create simple algorithms to automate their tasks. I used to work for a financial company and some of the tasks I was given as a client service associate were so tedious for no reason. In my technical mind, I always thought how fast the computer could do all of this busy work with a simple algorithm being applied.

Who is it For?
In my case, this app would be primarily for assistants, or anyone, who handles a lot of clerical work. If it could be given to an intern to do, it can be automated with a simple algorithm. This app would have a simple UI that would allow the user to give instructions to the app in pseudocode and it would generate the automation algorithm.

If Money & Time were No Concern, What Would I do With My Life?
This question could be answered in three parts. There are three things I have great interests in, one being if time was not a concern and the other two money.

If Time was Not a Concern
If time was not a concern I would 100% become an Astronaut. I am obsessed with outer-space. My first job I was shooting for was an Astronomer, until I found out physics is pretty boring. I've never really found learning particularly as a hobby, but learning about space is genuinely something I seek out and find interesting. When the space launches happen and hours of livestream footage come out, I actually will sit there and watch the whole thing. I also think I could learn some really cool space important tech things if I pursued the career. However, it takes something like 14 years to become an Astronaut so it is not realistic in my life plan.

If Money was Not a Concern
My first thing I would do if money was not a concern is work for the government. Not saying you can't make money for the government, but you would have to work your way up to start making the money you could make working for private companies. My dream job in this case would be to work for either the CIA doing counterterrorism intelligence collection or FBI on a JTTF (joint terrorism task force). My passion for counterterrorism is what led me to pursuing information security in the first place and I hope I do get to pursue it at some point in my life.

My second thing I would do if money was not a concern is become an event planner. Planning things is literally my biggest hobby. I often sit and plan vacations and parties for hours that are not actually happening. I think it is super fun and I think I have pretty good ideas if I do say so myself.

Top comments (0)