DEV Community

Cover image for Women in workshop
Claire Niyonshuti
Claire Niyonshuti

Posted on

Women in workshop

In last few weeks in women workshop I learned a lot in it, before joining this workshop I was not good in programming where I could develop a website that may have good looking, but without good functionality. I can say that this workshop was more important and helpful for me and my colleagues.

Firstly I want to say that I really learnt a lot in this workshop, but let me talk on the most important things I learnt. I learnt in this workshop, I learned how to create stories on pivotal tracker, and this was my first time to do this. It was important for me to know how I can create stories, because this could help me to know how my project will be working where I couldn't forget on what will be on my project, because if I have stories I will keep looking on them, and know what I have to do. I also learned GitHub this was my first time to see this too, and it was important to learn about GitHub, before we could work on one project as a team, but I had no idea on how we can share project in case we are working in different places, but now I know how we can use GitHub and post what you have done, if one of your team member need to work on her/his task when you are done, he/she will be able to see what her/his colleague did, and use it to do her/his task too. I have learnt also on responsiveness, this more important but I had no ides on this, I used to create different projects but I couldn't thing on responsiveness, while many people will use the website using computers and other use smartphones, tablets etc. For me I used to look on computers only, but I gain a lot in this workshop.

Even though I learnt a lot, but I met with some challenges in this workshop. As I have said above it was my first time to learnt about all that I have mentioned, so it was not easy to understand it well and work they all works, I had to ask help and do more practice for more understanding. Sometimes we was given tasks and we couldn't complete them as well, this is because we was not familiar with java script, so we was using different things that was not easy for us to understand. What I liked most in this workshop it how they showed as that we are the one to find the solutions by our own, many times we asked help but the good thing they couldn't do it for us, they just send us links for us to find. This was the good way for us to learn a lot.

In this workshop we had different challenges to complete and it was not easy to complete all, the good thing was that if you met with a blocker we had someone who can help us to deal with it. Before I used to find an error and quickly ask my colleagues on how I can sold it without trying to solve it by my own, but now I learnt that an error is not something that I can not solve it by my own, I have first read and and know where the mistake is. If I say that I learned a lot am not wrong, because I know how I was before and how this workshop made me strong. For now I am not afraid of saying that I may join Andela, because I believe that I have learnt a lot in few weeks, and I will keep learning for me to achieve more

Finally, I can say that this workshop was good and important where everyone can learn from and built her/his confidence. Before I thought that I couldn't do it, but now I believe that I can do it, I even believe that though learning and making a lot of practice I can join Andela.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sebbdk profile image
Sebastian Vargr • Edited

Sounds like a great workshop, did you find it difficult to work with github?
In my own experience Git can be quite challenging to learn. :)