DEV Community

CleverInsect
CleverInsect

Posted on

Welcome

Hi everyone, my name is Donal and I am from New York (the state, not the city). I am a junior at Penn State and I am a pursuing a degree in IST. Unfortunately, I have not been studying IST for very long, I have only been an IST major since my sophomore year (2019-2020). I originally went into IST because I wanted to be in an industry with a lot of jobs and have skills that are highly coveted by companies. However, I actually enjoyed learning about how technology works because to me it seemed like the knowledge and skills, I was learning was actually applicable and useful inside and outside of college.

I enjoyed learning more about technology because I didn’t know a lot about it to begin with. I especially liked learning about technology that I encounter on a daily basis like the internet and knowing how it works. I am still very new to IST, so I have a lot to learn. One of the aspects of IST that I enjoy the most is coding. I have always liked creating things and I enjoy creating things using code. I am an amateur when it comes to writing code, but, based on my own coding experiences, it has given me a lot of appreciation for many of the everyday systems that we use and it impresses me how much time, effort, and thought must have been put into creating those systems.

Some more information about me is that I am an avid reader and have read many books ranging from Dune by Frank Herbert to Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I am also a massive comic book nerd and have seen all of the Marvel movies and have an ever-increasing comic book collection. However, books and stories are not the main focus of this blog. This blog will be dedicated to discussing many different technologies and how to use them. I am excited to learn more about new technologies and this blog will help me accomplish that.
Below is a link to a YouTube video about me explaining an everyday technology that I originally did not know a lot about: Touch Screens.
Link

Top comments (0)