DEV Community

𝗠𝗘𝗥𝗖𝗬 Ⓜ️
𝗠𝗘𝗥𝗖𝗬 Ⓜ️

Posted on

JavaScript journey

I've been learning JavaScript recently after a few years of quitting on my first trial which could have open the door of many success for me earlier than now but it's never too late to do it anyway. I've been making progress so far which I never expected because I hate maths and first thing I saw on my first trial of JavaScript was var x = 5 * 7; which scare me off because I never expected such for someone that just learn HTML & CSS and enjoyed it.

Now I'd like to know how you all learn JavaScript and understand everything about it because I'm finding it hard to know how to use the basics of JavaScript that I've learned to build stuffs such as apps and on website.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
truemail785 profile image
Ozair

You don't need to worry about the stuff you can make/build with JavaSctipt basics.
Just keep learning and practicing the JavaScript until you are comfortable with using javascript.
Go to freecodecamp.org and take the javascript course. There is a ton of material to learn javascript and a lot of exercises.
And you can also take the HTML/CSS course (you should).
After that, you can also do the front-end projects on freecodecamp.org curriculum.
Also learn React after learning javascript. Keep it slow and steady. It can take 3-6 months time.
And don't worry about maths. Math is not compulsory for web development in general.

Collapse
 
codewithmercy profile image
𝗠𝗘𝗥𝗖𝗬 Ⓜ️

Actually, I have already learned HTML/CSS and I'm good with it and also done the freecodecamp responsive projects, learn the basics of JavaScript on freecodecamp too. Started ES6 few days ago and it been good since then