DEV Community

Cover image for Marketing to Tech ๐Ÿ’ป
Olivia Pandora Stokes
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Posted on • Updated on

Marketing to Tech ๐Ÿ’ป

I'm going to keep this short, mostly because I don't have a lot to say (today). Right now, I work in marketing, it's what I studied in college and it's how I make my money. Story-telling is a big part of marketing and it's also been one of my biggest strengths.

Anyways, tech is different and uncomfortable. At this point, I'm fully self-taught, with the help of FreeCodeCamp, W3schools, and SoloLearn. When I code, I have to sit with the discomfort. I make mistakes, again and again.

To be perfectly honest, I'm not sure where my new skills will take me. Do I want to leave the marketing industry? Do I want to fully work in tech? Will I have to choose? Either way, I want more options and I think that's what most people who learn how to code want. When we learn for career purposes, I think the primary motivation is to have more control over our lives. And that's what I want, more control over my life.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
n8jeffrey profile image
Nathan Jeffrey

Luckily there is a ton of crossover in both directions. You could be building advertising campaigns, optimizing websites for conversions or simply offering a deeper knowledge to tech clients. Good luck!

Collapse
 
oliviapandora profile image
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Yes, I think my marketing knowledge will be helpful. Thank you!

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (๐Ÿš€ Open Up The Cloud โ˜๏ธ)

Have you looked into Dev advocate work? Could be a good intersection for you...

Collapse
 
oliviapandora profile image
Olivia Pandora Stokes

No, but I'll definitely look into it. Thanks for the advice!