DEV Community

Cover image for Ups and Downs of Learning Python 📚
Olivia Pandora Stokes
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Posted on

Ups and Downs of Learning Python 📚

If you're reading this, it means I finally finished the "Lists" lessons in Python Principles. At least that was the plan. Of all of the sections I've completed so far, the "Lists" section has been the most difficult. Later tonight, I'm going to go through the last couple of challenges in this section.

One of the reasons I decided to learn Python was because people from a variety of backgrounds recommended it. Even a marketer turned entrepreneur cosigned Python being my next step, which felt encouraging. I get into the stride of Python and then "Bam" 💥 I'm confused in a different way. Because I'm using online resources to learn (with minimal community) I go back and forth about how much time it takes/should take me to figure something out. I really like to get the information in my brain, I take notes, I review my notes, I look at different ways to solve the problem.

Overall, I think this is helpful, especially when I'm laying the foundation of a language. But I think overall I'm starting to understand more about Python and extra time studying will help me make the progress I'm looking for. Below, I've included some of my observations, notes, and what I want to do next.

Think Like a Computer 🖥️

I think this is the one that trips me up the most. I love reading, writing, and finding several meanings to what I see. But Python is so literal, and it doesn't need any fluff. One time, I realized the correct solution was there, minus two extra lines of code. It can be easy for me to overcomplicate but going back to the instructions usually helps me.

I'm also thinking about buying at least one book about Python and making sure that it's a physical copy. Sometimes being able to hold the information, underline, highlight, and add sticky notes helps.

I miss #techtwitter 📲

I stopped using Twitter before it was sold and officially deleted my account earlier this year. And honestly, it was sad. A big reason I felt motivated to start coding was because I saw others from non-tech backgrounds doing it. And #techtwitter was far from perfect, but it was a convenient way to get in contact with someone or ask a quick question. I use other online platforms now (including DEV), but there’s still a gap that I’m hoping to fill.

Christmas countdown project 🎅🏽

After I finished my freeCodeCamp Responsive Web Design Certification, I started learning other things. However, I always wanted to do more projects with html and CSS. Hopefully during December I’ll do a Christmas countdown project, and at least a couple more ideas I have on my list. I want to add these projects to my portfolio and update my GitHub profile. I’m not sure how much html and CSS I’ll be using the future, but I want to keep the information fresh in my memory, so I don’t forget. I’m including this as digital accountability with the hopes that it helps me get these projects done.


This part of my learning has been a small slump, but I love the satisfaction when I’m able to understand something and even explain it to someone else. My long-term plan is to be in a technical role; however, I always see the benefit of learning outside of my comfort zone.

Do you have any learning/career plans for December? Or 2024?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
vladignatyev profile image
Vladimir Ignatev • Edited

If you learn Python, try my daily Python quizzes, like this or that. More are coming, stay tuned and follow me! ❤️

Collapse
 
oliviapandora profile image
Olivia Pandora Stokes

I like the idea of daily practice quiz, I'll check it out!

Collapse
 
kwnaidoo profile image
Kevin Naidoo

Nice article, and well done on your progress thus far! you are definitely on the right track. Keep building and I'm sure you will be a skilled dev one day :-)

Collapse
 
oliviapandora profile image
Olivia Pandora Stokes

Thanks for your support!