DEV Community

Lilly for Contenda

Posted on • Originally published at blog.brainstory.ai on

Productivity Tips for Brainstory

Brainstory is a tool that helps you think through and share your ideas with others. Instead of using AI to generate ideas, Brainstory uses AI as an interface to sharpen your thinking. It won’t create, do, or automate for you. It will refine, encourage, and push your thinking.

Navigating a conversation

  1. In the opening conversation, tell Brainstory as much as you can about the format of your work.

“I’d like to write our weekly team memo that’s going to cover the sections: product, marketing, and investor relations”

“I have no clue what to do about this problem and need to talk through it.”

“I have a side project idea, but I’m not sure how I want to build it out.”

“I want to give a talk on a certain topic, and I have to think about my outline.”

“I need to think through answers to a list of discussion questions I have.”

Any detail, including a lack of detail, will help Brainstory navigate the rest of the conversation. For our last example, saying you have a list will cue Brainstory to ask you about your list of questions.

  1. If you get too deep into a thread, you can navigate “back” to a previous level by telling Brainstory you want to go “back”.
Topic A
Topic B
... Topic B1
... Topic B2
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

In the above scenario, if you’re tired of talking about Topic B2, you can say something like, “I don’t want to talk about this anymore. Can we go back up?“. This will bring you back to the top level topics, continuing onto Topic C.

If you use the “Ask me a different question!” button on Topic B2, you should expect to get a question about Topic B3.

  1. If you realize while talking that something you said doesn’t make sense, you should still send it.

It may feel tempting to stop the recording and restart it, as if you were recording a video. Don’t! Brainstory will interpret your thought, including where you felt like it went off track, and re-phrase the question. This can be very helpful for getting you back on track.

That’s it!

If you thought this was helpful, feel free to join our community Discord! You’ll meet lots of other like-minded folks and it’s a great place to share ideas with each other.

As always, if you need someone to share your Brainstory with, you can find me here.

Top comments (0)