DEV Community

Cover image for What are the most important skills to master (outside of coding) which will help you to land a job?
Duzmath Lajos
Duzmath Lajos

Posted on

What are the most important skills to master (outside of coding) which will help you to land a job?

Hello Everyone!

So, I was just thinking that what are these skills, which are really important, outside of knowing how to code.
I mean e.g.: Git, GitHub etc.

Could you please suggest some stuff to learn before I start applying jobs?

I know, that the lack of working in a team will be the hardest part, because I know how to code myself, but I will have no experience, how to code together with someone else or a team.

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

Have a nice day!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
_bkern profile image
Barry

Two suggestions that go along with Git/Github
1) Learn how to investigate a codebase via git&github. There is a wealth of knowledge stored in there and no one really ever teaches you about it. I do believe someone wrote a book in this area but I can't recall it.
2) Learn how to use a diff tool. Sometime you will get into an issue with the code and everyone else's changes and you need to get comfortable with your process for getting through these. There is not a 'right' way here and lots of different tools but something I think is valuable.

The above two won't necessarily help you get a job but even when you start I think they are good things to learn that are outside the critical path of learning to code/learning some framework etc.