DEV Community

Curious Web Addicts
Curious Web Addicts

Posted on

Web Project: development and deploy

Hi devs,
I need suggestions for the development of a web project I am doing.

The web page should be just a company landing page. It should have maybe two-three pages with some static articles. The website articles might change in the future, but not on a regular basis.

I have done some researches and there are many options for development and deploy this kind of website and I am a bit confused.
For development, I could go for a custom website in React (which I know pretty well), but given the standard backbone of the project, I don't want to spend too much time doing everything from scratch. I never used Wordpress but I am worried about all the plugins you need to do simple stuff. Moreover, learning how to use this new tool could be potentially more time consuming than the first option.
I don't have any experience in deployment. I have heard about Netlify, but I am not sure it's a good option for this case.

Do you have any recommendation for the stack?
I know this is quite vague, it's still an exploratory phase, but any help it's appreciated.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
guidovizoso profile image
Guido Vizoso

Hi Angela!

If you're thinking about a static website with content that may change (not regularly) I'd recommend Next + MDX (github.com/zeit/next.js/tree/canar...). This would allow you to quickly change content directly on the code without too much hassle. Then you can deploy to Vercel's Now or Netlify from your repo very easily and just assign it a custom domain.

Does it make sense? Let me know if that suits you!

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

You should really tag your post with #react

Development stack

  • Jekyll is probably the simplest
  • I don't know much about React but Gatsby should be nice; although I had trouble with managing Contents in the past, so I eventually recommend some CMS. I think WordPress can also expose the API.
    • IMO, though, in Gatsby, you have to create your own building blocks a lot; unlike Jekyll.

Deployment

  • Netlify can handle quite well with static website, without offering to much.
  • If you need some minimal serverless API, I would go with Now.sh
  • I think Now.sh has very nice Next.js support.
  • Heroku supports all kinds of server, but the starting price beyond free tier is a little pricey.
  • For Docker, I prefer to deploy on Google Cloud Run; but that is if you need a real server.

Reality

Today, I have just used Nuxt with my custom CMS (build with Fastify and Typegoose), deploy on Google App Engine. I like Nuxt for simplifying routing, and doesn't force me to use GraphQL.

Collapse
 
brandinchiu profile image
Brandin Chiu

A quick way to get off the ground would be using a "static site generator". These are applications that you build and configure locally (usually with little upfront development needed), and then the building process generates a deployable package.

Jekyll is often my go-to, and works great for blogs or other sites with static content. It uses Markdown and git for writing articles, instead of backend control pannel (like WordPress).

For deployment, Google Clouds App Engine is very likely the easiest, and hosting a static site simply requires a tiny configuration file: cloud.google.com/appengine/docs/st...