DEV Community

Cover image for Hello, World.
Dennis Frymire
Dennis Frymire

Posted on

Hello, World.

Had two weeks off from work for the holidays.

I wanted to get more into tech blogging, and set out to build my own starter blog via Gatsby, deployed on Netlify.

I hit a few quite a few bugs that, with some Googling, appear to be common issues out of the box with Gatsby/Netlify, and I found myself wondering, "Why am I trying to more or less reinvent the wheel, building my own blog, when other platforms are available. What am I trying to prove?"

I'm a husband and father of two. I have a full-time job, and other interests outside of coding. My point of having a tech blog is to document my side projects. I want to be able to easily post, and not worry about bugs in the blog itself.

And so here we are: My first tech blog post (beyond the few I did on Medium while in bootcamp, which I'm sure I'll recycle here at some point.)

Here's to getting started...

Top comments (0)