DEV Community

David Fisher
David Fisher

Posted on • Originally published at d-fisher.com on

My Movie List: On reflection.

I decided to look at the My Movie Application after completing the Podcast app to see how I could improve it. I have made some minor tweaks since, but I could polish it even further.

Good Git workflow

In hindsight, I should have used a good and common git workflow. Using git-flow and working with issues, pull requests and branches will be something that I'll be regularly doing when I become a full-time developer. I would also commit much more and have better comments.

Testing

I would also use testing at the beginning of the project rather than implementing at a later stage. I did testing on the podcast app from the beginning, and it was very beneficial. It also would help with planning the app, as testing puts the design into focus.

Design

I'm quite happy with how the app looks, but perhaps some fonts and colours could work better together. I'm not a designer, so I'm overly unhappy.

Docker

Docker enables application portability, so someone can download my repository and quickly build the application without the need to install Node or other dependencies. I may deploy the app with a Docker container in the future.

Unnecessary code

Using an error handler hook was overkill for this project, but I implemented this feature as I was trying to learn as much as possible about hooks. Creating separate JSX style scripts to the component script keeps the app more organised and more comfortable to read. I have re-organised the app this way, but I should have followed this workflow from the beginning.

You can find the repo here: https://github.com/cam71101/My-Movie-List.

Top comments (0)