DEV Community

Devon Drake Pinkston
Devon Drake Pinkston

Posted on

JavaScript Problems

So, I'm taking a course for Web Development and the instructors insist on plowing through JavaScript as if there isn't some understanding to be had behind it all. It's super aggravating because this is only ONE out of like 4-5 other language/concepts that I'm supposed to be learning. I'm already using Udemy, FreeCode and various other sites for practicing this JavaScript crap but I'm not picking up the understanding of how it all plays into itself. It's literally more complex and stupid than algebra... how am I supposed to pick up the concepts and make them stick?????

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
nash4253 profile image
Vukani Gcabashe

Bro i learnt using these too, I realized same issue with my training at work and started implement depth first learning for myself where - i learn as much as i can of the basics before someone else teaches it, then let them add on what know. I also realized this thing they do is gives you a realistic dev experience because you see that with code you barely have things going your way and the fix for that issue is being accepting of the problem, then trying a way of shifting your understanding or learning to conform.

Solution (n):
For each chapter or section. stop learning and start building small project or micro program that implements that or psudo-code of a solution you want to implement later for your app 'i know you have an idea in mind bro'.
Solution(n+1):
Document the learning process, and teach someone else what ever you learnt, find someone who needs help with code piece or even go look for code problems to solve online and write the code for it 'applying what you have learnt'. This sort of pushes you to go deeper and search resources while having fun.
Solution (n+2):
Connect with other developers bro, discuss what you learning with them and when you get stuck just ask for help ma brother, keep connecting, keep asking, keep growing a good network on skilled developers it helps you learn better. This personally helped me alot and still is so i hope it helps.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Are you using JavaScript in your projects? I have found the more you use it, the more you understand its uses and functionality.

Collapse
 
dpinkston91 profile image
Devon Drake Pinkston

This is probably the most practical answer, thank you!

I took a short break from code, but I am back on the quarter horse!