DEV Community

E Meier
E Meier

Posted on

My Ideal App

Background

I’ve been very fortunate to have a family who supports me financially through college, but once the pandemic hit I realized how important it is to learn about personal finance. I realized that I know nothing about investments, passive incomes, stocks, or really even serious budgeting. While I have a job secured for after graduation, I have realized that personal finance is something I need to begin learning. This is the main reason why my ideal app would be a game that would teach/develop personal finance.

Idea

The main idea would to have various mini-games or several sections that players could choose between to enhance their skills in particular areas. I believe that it would be a simulation type game where if one would want to learn about the stock market, it would provide an interactive simulation to play through. I personally find that the best way to learn things like this is hands on learning, but not everyone has money to throw around in the real world which is why a simulation game like this would be ideal. Not only would programming this application potentially create a beneficial game for many others struggling with personal finance, but also it would give me the opportunity to get a deeper of knowledge on my own along the way.

Extra

Like many others in programming, I have had many instances of imposter syndrome. Even without these occasional doubts, I’m honestly not sure if I could say exactly what I would want to do with my skill set. I feel that I have a wide range of interests and haven’t found an exact passion/niche in programming yet.

Top comments (0)