DEV Community

Elisa Opalka
Elisa Opalka

Posted on

Why did I decide to learn software engineering?

Lets start by saying I was never good in school. I was easily distracted and got average grades even when I tried my best. I started college right out of high school, it did not go so well and I decided it was not for me. I worked as a waitress for years and always knew that it wouldn't last forever. It can be emotionally draining to wait on people every day. After years of feeling beat down and poor, I decided I was only going to succeed with some schooling to back me up. I reluctantly went back to college for a 2 year degree in restaurant management. Surprisingly to me, I did amazing in my classes. I got good grades and really felt smart for the first time. I always thought I was kind of dumb before that. Right out of school I got a management job working in a popular chain restaurant. I tired to be the manager I wish I had all of those years. For a while it was great and I felt accomplished. I had a store that ran great and made me lots of money. About a year ago I moved to be closer to family and my 95 year old grandmother. She has just recently started showing signs of Alzheimer's and I decided to live with her so I could keep an eye on how she was progressing through the disease. I also could not give up this opportunity to make so many new memories while she is still around. I transferred to a new store thinking it would be great as well and it was not. I found myself throwing all of my emotions and energy into a failing store. There was so much to do that I hardly ate during the day, even though I was literally surrounded by food. I was no longer the manager I wanted to be and could not support the store while always running on empty. Then covid hit the United States. So many changes were made and we did our best to adapt and stay safe but four months later, we had employees testing positive for the virus. The company reported this to the county who in turn told them to "deep clean". I could not believe it. I knew I could move out and continue working there or I could leave a job I was already mentally done with. I knew that even a new restaurant would eventually not suit me anymore. I knew it was time for a CHANGE! My mom had always preached about the technology field and coding. I knew if I was ever going to try something this new and this bold it was now. I am channeling that same energy that got me through my 2 year degree and I am ready to apply everything towards this new career. Although it all sounds like gibberish I am taking my notes and pushing through the best I can. Here goes nothing.....

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
eric23 profile image
Eric

You sound like a very driven person. I'm sure you'll do great!
It will be hard at first but as soon as you can, make something. And take note of the many things you learned in order to make that project.
Best of luck!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.