DEV Community

Erik
Erik

Posted on

What off-the-beaten-path CI/CD Tools Do You Like?

Hi everyone. I'm wanting to move my current project away from TravisCI as I feel their quality and dedication to OSS has sharply declined since being publicly acquired and letting go many of their developers.

I'm looking for suggestions on a free (or cheap) hosted CI/CD service like Travis or Circle. I don't want to use CircleCI though because that's what my team uses at work and I don't want to get any personal and professional wires crossed.

I'm especially interested in hearing about newer or less known tools if you have any to recommend.

Thanks in advance!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ryancco profile image
Ryan

Depending on what service you’re using for version control, I’d look towards built in CI/CD systems (GitHub actions, bitbucket pipelines, etc). I’ve mostly moved away from Travis, Circle, and Semaphore for these solutions and haven’t looked back.

Collapse
 
erikwhiting88 profile image
Erik

Interesting. Yeah, I use GitHub so I guess I should look into GitHub actions.

On one hand, it's probably great having all the functionality you need coming from one place. On the other hand though, sometimes I wonder if it's better to diversify your tools in case one company starts to really suck. Like, if Travis were a one-stop-shop for DevOps and I had all my eggs in that basket, I'd have to migrate way more than just the CI pipeline right?

I guess like with all things in software engineering, it's a tradeoff.